PLEASE NOTE: This is the Archived Sexyloops Board from years 2004-2013.
Our active community is here: https://www.sexyloops.co.uk/theboard/

Fulcrum

Alejandro
IB3 Member Level 1

Fulcrum

Post by Alejandro »

I bring to a new topic the debate of the last pages of Excellent Double Spey Video (http://www.sexyloops.co.uk/cgi-bin/theb ... =ST;f=14;t =13975) because it was different to the initial matter of the thread, and I believe that it is really interesting.

I am beginning to get ready for THCI, and I am reading some strange things in the texts that I am studying. One of those things is the use of the term fulcrum, that doesn't seem to have any relationship with the rotation center for some instructors.

For me, to cast with a two handed rod implies to accelerate the rod with both hands, and if we make this is impossible to maintain the rotation center in the superior hand.

By definition the fulcrum is the point that support a lever. In the real case of a two hands rod we would have two fulcrums: the upper hand is fulcrum of the force exercised by the inferior hand, and vice versa.
To “see” these fulcrums we should transform into observers inside the system, traveling in one or another hand. But in this case we lose the perspective of our own movement, as it happens to a passenger inside a vehicle. It seems that some can take this trip in a hand, but not in the other.

If we take a look to a conventional spey cast we won't see any fulcrum, only a rotation of the rod around an imaginary axis whose position changes throughout the cast.

Therefore, in my opinion or we speak of two fulcrums or of a rotation axis. Only one fulcrum I don't see the sense,