PLEASE NOTE: This is the Archived Sexyloops Board from years 2004-2013.
Our active community is here: https://www.sexyloops.co.uk/theboard/

Working hours - New PB

Biology
IB3 Member Level 1

Working hours - New PB

Post by Biology »

I've been working an average 55-60hr week for the last eleven years. Last week hit a new PB of 76 starting 03:45 on Monday and returned home 22:10 on the Friday. It's not hard labour or man-ual shit but still a bit heavy... Any other hardcore wage slaves burning the midnight oil?

Roll on the Christmas break and two weeks recovery before it all kicks off again on 03-01-12

Andy
"There are no passengers on spaceship Earth - We are all crew." - Marshall McLuhan

Small Fly Funk
jomeder
IB3 Member Level 1

Post by jomeder »

Hi Andy,

When I was boatbuilding I did some 70-80 hour weeks. This was motivated both by overtime rates (yay!) and wanting to make a dent in the hours needed to get my trade certificate. That was some pretty hard manual work. We found productivity went through the floor when you're working that long so we stopped it.

I got sick while I was boatbuilding but eventually got well enough I was able to get involved in the job I have now, which is software development. For a long time I worked 7 days a week. I used to start work at about 11 AM and finish at 3 AM (breaks for lunch and dinner). I didn't have much of anything else to do, or could do due to my health. I could type and do mental stuff but physical stuff tired me out too quickly. However about 5 years ago I started flyfishing and it wasn't too long after that I decided I was going to start to have weekends so I could fish :-). I was surprised to find it made a big difference. Previously I would need to listen to music to disengage my brain and help me get to sleep. Since I started taking weekends I only rarely need to do that.