PLEASE NOTE: This is the Archived Sexyloops Board from years 2004-2013.
Our active community is here: https://www.sexyloops.co.uk/theboard/

Some musings on flick casting and spey

Stu Jamieson
IB3 Member Level 1

Some musings on flick casting and spey

Post by Stu Jamieson »

Okay, so this is my first post and I'm an amateur caster so, y'know, please be gentle. ;)

So I've just been checking out the casting section on flickcasting which has given me a few thoughts (I know, dangerous, right?). Quoting from that article:

Up to now we have purely dealt with two types of cast: the overhead cast and the roll cast - every type of cast can be regarded as being one or the other, except the flickcast.

I reckon the flickcast is actually a roll cast albeit turned upside down. Where a roll cast pulls the line in from below, lifts up over the top and accelerates to a stop back in the direction of origin; the flickcast pulls the line over the top, drops down and accelerates to a stop below. The line ends up in the opposite direction to the roll cast because it has no anchor (the fly being airborne an' all). A bit like when you roll cast on grass with too much line in front of you - the fly just pulls through the D loop rather that the casting loop shooting forward.

So with this in mind, and having just started practising spey casting, I'm wondering perhaps if every spey cast could be seen merely as a series of roll casts performed in varying planes.

The C-spey or snap-T, for instance begins with a flick upstream (an upside down roll cast), followed by a rising sweep (a roll cast on a rising diagonal plane across the body) thus throwing a D loop behind in readiness for a standard forward roll cast.

Similarly, a snake roll begins with a transverse flick cast (i.e. an upside down roll cast) to re-align the line to the new direction of the target, followed by a standard forward roll cast.